How can we leave you to a Saturday night? My selection for #Hottest100 2013

It’s that time of year again.  ‘Best of…’ ‘Worst of…’ ‘Most overrated…’ ‘Best people called Mark Fletcher…’ lists have all started popping up across the Internet.  Triple J’s Hottest 100 voting has opened for 2013 and my votes are below.

Before I get to them, I was thinking about what I’d been reading, watching, and hearing throughout 2013 and it surprised me that I didn’t consume as much new material as in previous years.  I added a new bookshelf to my collection and proceeded to fill it with second hand books.  At the same time, I went to more launches of local music this year than in previous years.  Highlights included:

[vimeo http://vimeo.com/77258114]

I also listened to a lot more parody music and most of my playlists were full of creative commons mashups and remixes.  Best parody song for 2013:

And I listened to this way too often:

But now to the beefy beef.  My Hottest 100 selection:

Lorde – Tennis Court

I’m not a massive fan of Lorde generally, but this song is great.  I particularly like the line ‘It’s a new art form showing people how little we care’.

Bloc Party – Ratchet

I’m a tragic for Bloc Party.  On some level, I know their music borderlines on perpetual adolescence; on the other hand, it’s so damn fun.  The video clip was made by Cyriak, who is a deity of awesomeness.

David Bowie – Where Are We Now?

In 2013, I listened to every David Bowie album in order.  Totally worth it.   The Next Day shows what artists can do when they’re in the privileged position of not really having to worry about market success.  This creates something of a problem: we want more voices producing material that gets widely distributed, but the only people who can really achieve that are the people who made their success back in the ’60s and are now part of an industry which cuts people out.  Even so, this was an amazing record and a great song.

Daft Punk – Get Lucky

Shut up, haters.  There was no other song released this year that made more people want to dance: fact.  In a year where we had album after album forced upon us in which the die-hard fans had to implore us to listen to it eleventy-hundred times because it will ‘grow on us’, it was good to have an album that was a joy out of the box.  Meanwhile, Daft Punk was responsible for perhaps the worst musical thing to happen this year:

Get off my Internet, Gen X.

Haim – Strong Enough {Like A Version}

HAIM is a band that I wish I liked.  They do excellent covers, such as this one of ‘Strong Enough’ and this one of ‘Wrecking Ball‘.  But their actual music is kind of lame.  That said, their performance on Letterman was kind of amazing.

Against Me! – FUCKMYLIFE666

This is an amazing band that I’ve loved for years and I’m really looking forward to the next album, Transgender Dysphoria Blues (a reference to the lead singer’s recent transition).  I admit that I wasn’t expecting the style of the single that was released this year, but it’s still an enjoyable, thoroughly excellent song.

Arctic Monkeys – Why’d You Only Call Me When You’re High?

I really disliked the Arctic Monkey’s first album.  There were a few songs that were okay, but it was a bit of a miss.  It wasn’t until I heard Last of the Shadow Puppets that I got into the Arctic Monkey’s second album, Favourite Worst Nightmare, which was fantastic.  AM was another great album, but the lead single was by far and away the best song on it.

Franz Ferdinand – Love Illumination

The last two albums (You Could Have It So Much Better, and Tonight: Franz Ferdinand) burnt a lot of goodwill generated from the first untitled album.  There was good stuff on them, mind, it was just that the albums as a whole were pretty lame.  Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Actions was on constant play in my house this year.  It’s possibly a better album than their first.

Franz Ferdinand – Right Action

This was the lead single from Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Actions and it is brilliant.  Franz Ferdinand is always at its best when it just pumps out catchy beats with disjointed lyrics.

Future Of The Left – Johnny Borrell Afterlife

I’m probably going to be the only person in Australia who votes for this.  Everything about this band is great and this song was awesome.  It even references Nikola Tesla.

It occurred to me after I’d hit submit that the best album of the year was not represented in the Hottest 100 voting list: Editors’ The Weight of Your Love.  This was my favourite song of the year:

The rest of the album is amazing and this is easily the best Editors’ album yet.  It’s a shame that it got practically no coverage.

Similarly, the best acoustic cover of an artist’s own song went to Emilie Simon:

It’s nearly impossible to find her stuff in Australia, which is completely lame.  Les Fatals Picards also released a new album this year, Septième ciel, but I haven’t seen it make it out to Australia yet.  Sad face.

Author: Mark Fletcher

Mark Fletcher is a Canberra-based blogger and policy wonk who writes about conservatism, atheism, and popular culture. Read his blog at OnlyTheSangfroid. He tweets at @ClothedVillainy

2 thoughts on “How can we leave you to a Saturday night? My selection for #Hottest100 2013”

Leave a Reply

